Best of the 'Burgh: 2017 Readers' Poll

Diners, food trucks, hair salons and more. Here's the most popular stuff in town.



(page 1 of 5)


photo by laura petrilla

 

DINING

Al Fresco
Pusadee’s Garden, pusadeesgarden.com

Bakery
Oakmont Bakery, oakmontbakery.com

Barbecue
Pork & Beans, porkandbeanspgh.com

Breakfast
Pamela’s Diner, pamelasdiner.com

Brunch
Grand Concourse, grandconcourserestaurant.com

Burger
Burgatory, burgatorybar.com

BYOB Restaurant
Noodlehead, noodleheadpgh.com

Cheap Eats
Noodlehead, noodleheadpgh.com

Chinese
Sesame Inn, sesameinn.com

Contemporary American
Eleven Contemporary Kitchen, elevenck.com

Dessert
The Melting Pot, meltingpot.com

Diner
Ritter’s Diner, facebook.com/rittersdiner

European
Point Brugge Cafe, pointbrugge.com

Family-Friendly
Eat’n Park, eatnpark.com

Farmer’s Local Market
Soergel Orchards, soergels.com

Food Truck
PGH Taco Truck, pghtacotruck.com

French
Paris 66 Bistro, paris66bistro.com

Frozen Treat
Millie’s Homemade Ice Cream, millieshomemade.com

Gluten-Free Eats
Gluuteny Bakery, gluuteny.com

Hot Dog
Franktuary, franktuary.com

Ice Cream
Millie’s Homemade Ice Cream, millieshomemade.com

Ice Pop
Stickler’s Ice Pop Company, sticklerspgh.com

Indian
Taj Mahal, tajmahalinc.com

Italian Non-Chain
Piccolo Forno, piccolo-forno.com

Japanese/Sushi
Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, eatatnakama.com

Latin-Inspired
Gaucho Parrilla Argentina, eatgaucho.com

Mediterranean/Greek
Aladdin’s Eatery, aladdinseatery.com

Mexican/Tex-Mex
Mad Mex, madmex.com

Middle Eastern
Aladdin’s Eatery, aladdinseatery.com

Pastries
La Gourmandine, lagourmandinebakery.com

Pierogies
Pierogies Plus, pierogiesplus.com

Pizza Non-Chain
Fiori’s Pizzaria, fiorispizzaria.com

Seafood
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, montereybayfishgrotto.com

Small Plates
Morcilla, morcillapittsburgh.com

Special Occasion
Altius, altiuspgh.com

Steak
Ruth’s Chris Steak House, ruthschris.com

Taco
täko, takopgh.com

Thai
Nicky’s Thai Kitchen, nickysthaikitchen.com

Vegan/Vegetarian-Friendly
Apteka, aptekapgh.com

Wing Night
Bigham Tavern, bighamtavern.com

Worth the Drive
Burgatory, burgatorybar.com

Write-In
Yummyholic, yummyholic.com
 

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Best of the 'Burgh

Best of the 'Burgh: 2017 Readers' Poll

Diners, food trucks, hair salons and more. Here's the most popular stuff in town.

Best of the 'Burgh: Food & Drink

From the bar snacks to egg sandwiches to nightcaps, our recommendations for when you are hungry, thirsty or both.

Best of the 'Burgh: Personalities

From a burlesque bridge-builder to a philosopher-fermento –– our favorite Pittsburgh originals.

Best of the 'Burgh: Style & Shopping

From a boutique where it's actually fun to shop with your kids to finding champagne-taste eyewear on a beer budget –– our favorites to get the perfect 'Burgh style.

Best of the 'Burgh: Activities & Experiences

From banjo night to moonlit horseback rides to taking a 10-meter plunge –– our favorite things to do in the 'Burgh.

Best of the 'Burgh: Kids & Family

From a children's book about a Monongahela Mermaid to a place where women can give birth in a home-like environment –– our favorite things for kids and family.

Best of the 'Burgh: Business & Education

From a 'Burgh-based board game to a revitalized airport –– our favorites in business and education in Pittsburgh.

Best of the 'Burgh: Arts & Culture

From a dark cabaret to time travel without ever leaving home –– our favorites of Pittsburgh's Arts & Culture.
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

The 412

Watch: The Terrible Towel and 45 Years of Steelers Nation

Perspectives from Franco Harris to Joe Manganiello.

Yinzers Eating Chicken Wings Are Going to Be on TV

Mt. Washington’s Bigham Tavern is the latest ‘Burgh eatery to host a film crew.

32 Years Celebrating Pittsburghers of the Year

As we honor the 2017 Pittsburghers of the year, take a look back at the previous honorees and their significant, unforgettable contributions to our city.

Wish a Steeler a Speedy Recovery in a Big Way

An oversized get-well-soon card for Pittsburgh Steelers linebacker Ryan Shazier is waiting for your signature Downtown.

Watch: Who is Faster on a Zamboni? Crosby or Malkin?

Sid and Geno love to compete, especially against each other. This time, the future Hall-of-Famers climbed aboard Zamboni machines for a race across a parking lot.

Mail Time: A Pittsburgh Icon Will Be in Your Mailbox

The U.S. Postal Service revealed designs for its 2018 Forever Stamps, and one features a neighbor you may recognize.

Edit Module