Best of the 'Burgh 2015: Readers' Poll

Burger joints. Bar bands. Radio hosts. Here's the most popular stuff in town.



(page 1 of 5)


OAKMONT BAKERY photo by josh greenberg

 

Food

Al Fresco
Pusadee's Garden, pusadeesgarden.com

Bakery
Oakmont Bakery, oakmontbakery.com

Barbecue
Union Pig & Chicken, unionpgh.com

Breakfast
Pamela's Diner, pamelasdiner.com

Brunch
Grand Concourse, grandconcourserestaurant.com

Burger
Burgatory, burgatorybar.com

BYOB 
Piccolo Forno, piccolo-forno.com

Cheap Eats
Noodlehead, noodleheadpgh.com

Chinese
Sesame Inn, sesameinn.com

Contemporary American
Eleven Contemporary Kitchen, elevenck.com

Dessert
The Cheesecake Factory, thecheesecakefactory.com

Diner
Pamela's Diner, pamelasdiner.com

European
Point Brugge Cafe, pointbrugge.com

Family-Friendly
Eat'n Park, eatnpark.com

Food Truck
PGH Taco Truck, pghtacotruck.com

French
Paris 66, paris66bistro.com

Frozen Treat
Rita's Italian Ice, ritasice.com

Gluten-Free Fare
Gluuteny Bakery, gluuteny.com

Hot Dog
Franktuary, franktuary.com

Indian
Taj Mahal, tajmahalinc.com

Italian Non-Chain
Piccolo Forno, piccolo-forno.com

Japanese/Sushi
Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, eatatnakama.com

Latin-Inspired
Kaya, bigburrito.com/kaya

Mediterranean/Greek
Aladdin's Eatery, aladdinseatery.com

Mexican/Tex-Mex
Mad Mex, madmex.com

Middle Eastern
Aladdin's Eatery, aladdinseatery.com

Pierogies
Pierogies Plus, pierogiesplus.com

Pizza Non-Chain
Mineo's Pizza House, mineospizza.com

Seafood
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, montereybayfishgrotto.com

Small Plates
Tamari*, tamaripgh.com
*The Lawrenceville location closed in May; the Warrendale location is still open.

Special Occasion
Eleven Contemporary Kitchen, elevenck.com

Steak
Ruth's Chris Steak House, ruthschris.com

Taco
PGH Taco Truck, pghtacotruck.com

Thai
Nicky's Thai Kitchen, nickysthaikitchen.com

Vegan-/Vegetarian-Friendly
Eden, edenpitt.com

Wing Night
Bigham Tavern, bighamtavern.com

Worth the Drive
Cafe Chocolade, cafechocolade.net

Next: Drinks

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module
Edit Module

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Best of the 'Burgh

Best of the 'Burgh: 2017 Readers' Poll

Diners, food trucks, hair salons and more. Here's the most popular stuff in town.

Best of the 'Burgh: Personalities

From a burlesque bridge-builder to a philosopher-fermento –– our favorite Pittsburgh originals.

Best of the 'Burgh: Food & Drink

From the bar snacks to egg sandwiches to nightcaps, our recommendations for when you are hungry, thirsty or both.

Best of the 'Burgh: Style & Shopping

From a boutique where it's actually fun to shop with your kids to finding champagne-taste eyewear on a beer budget –– our favorites to get the perfect 'Burgh style.

Best of the 'Burgh: Kids & Family

From a children's book about a Monongahela Mermaid to a place where women can give birth in a home-like environment –– our favorite things for kids and family.

Best of the 'Burgh: Activities & Experiences

From banjo night to moonlit horseback rides to taking a 10-meter plunge –– our favorite things to do in the 'Burgh.
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Hot Reads

Think Globally Eat Locally

Think Globally Eat Locally

Pittsburgh slowly is moving closer to becoming a global dining destination while maintaining a culinary connection to its industrial past. PM Dining critic Hal B. Klein profiles 16 international restaurants you need to visit.
Meet Pittsburgh's 40 Under 40 Honorees for 2017

Meet Pittsburgh's 40 Under 40 Honorees for 2017

We present this year's class of 40 people under the age of 40 who are making Pittsburgh a better place.
Chasing Rabbits: Why Tuomas Sandholm Almost Always Wins

Chasing Rabbits: Why Tuomas Sandholm Almost Always Wins

The winding career path of Tuomas Sandholm has taken detours through kidney transplants, Texas Hold ’em, windsurfing and more. Next, he’d like to save the planet.
Restaurant Review: Meet the New Crew at Smallman Galley

Restaurant Review: Meet the New Crew at Smallman Galley

The second class of Smallman Galley chefs offer addictive Detroit-style pizza and other works-in-progress.
Daytripping: Southern Charm Atop a Cold War Bunker

Daytripping: Southern Charm Atop a Cold War Bunker

Experience antebellum elegance and echoes of the Cold War at West Virginia’s Greenbrier Resort.
Keith Dambrot Brings the Midas Touch to Duquesne

Keith Dambrot Brings the Midas Touch to Duquesne

Duquesne University is betting on a new men's basketball coach with a proven track record and a superstar supporter.

Edit Module