Best of the 'Burgh 2015: Readers' Poll

Burger joints. Bar bands. Radio hosts. Here's the most popular stuff in town.



(page 1 of 5)


OAKMONT BAKERY photo by josh greenberg

 

Food

Al Fresco
Pusadee's Garden, pusadeesgarden.com

Bakery
Oakmont Bakery, oakmontbakery.com

Barbecue
Union Pig & Chicken, unionpgh.com

Breakfast
Pamela's Diner, pamelasdiner.com

Brunch
Grand Concourse, grandconcourserestaurant.com

Burger
Burgatory, burgatorybar.com

BYOB 
Piccolo Forno, piccolo-forno.com

Cheap Eats
Noodlehead, noodleheadpgh.com

Chinese
Sesame Inn, sesameinn.com

Contemporary American
Eleven Contemporary Kitchen, elevenck.com

Dessert
The Cheesecake Factory, thecheesecakefactory.com

Diner
Pamela's Diner, pamelasdiner.com

European
Point Brugge Cafe, pointbrugge.com

Family-Friendly
Eat'n Park, eatnpark.com

Food Truck
PGH Taco Truck, pghtacotruck.com

French
Paris 66, paris66bistro.com

Frozen Treat
Rita's Italian Ice, ritasice.com

Gluten-Free Fare
Gluuteny Bakery, gluuteny.com

Hot Dog
Franktuary, franktuary.com

Indian
Taj Mahal, tajmahalinc.com

Italian Non-Chain
Piccolo Forno, piccolo-forno.com

Japanese/Sushi
Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, eatatnakama.com

Latin-Inspired
Kaya, bigburrito.com/kaya

Mediterranean/Greek
Aladdin's Eatery, aladdinseatery.com

Mexican/Tex-Mex
Mad Mex, madmex.com

Middle Eastern
Aladdin's Eatery, aladdinseatery.com

Pierogies
Pierogies Plus, pierogiesplus.com

Pizza Non-Chain
Mineo's Pizza House, mineospizza.com

Seafood
Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, montereybayfishgrotto.com

Small Plates
Tamari*, tamaripgh.com
*The Lawrenceville location closed in May; the Warrendale location is still open.

Special Occasion
Eleven Contemporary Kitchen, elevenck.com

Steak
Ruth's Chris Steak House, ruthschris.com

Taco
PGH Taco Truck, pghtacotruck.com

Thai
Nicky's Thai Kitchen, nickysthaikitchen.com

Vegan-/Vegetarian-Friendly
Eden, edenpitt.com

Wing Night
Bigham Tavern, bighamtavern.com

Worth the Drive
Cafe Chocolade, cafechocolade.net

Next: Drinks

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module
Edit Module

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Best of the 'Burgh

Best of the 'Burgh: 2017 Readers' Poll

Diners, food trucks, hair salons and more. Here's the most popular stuff in town.

Best of the 'Burgh: Personalities

From a burlesque bridge-builder to a philosopher-fermento –– our favorite Pittsburgh originals.

Best of the 'Burgh: Food & Drink

From the bar snacks to egg sandwiches to nightcaps, our recommendations for when you are hungry, thirsty or both.

Best of the 'Burgh: Style & Shopping

From a boutique where it's actually fun to shop with your kids to finding champagne-taste eyewear on a beer budget –– our favorites to get the perfect 'Burgh style.

Best of the 'Burgh: Kids & Family

From a children's book about a Monongahela Mermaid to a place where women can give birth in a home-like environment –– our favorite things for kids and family.

Best of the 'Burgh: Activities & Experiences

From banjo night to moonlit horseback rides to taking a 10-meter plunge –– our favorite things to do in the 'Burgh.
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Hot Reads

True Grit: Homestead Mayor Betty Esper Just Won't Back Down

True Grit: Homestead Mayor Betty Esper Just Won't Back Down

Homestead’s first and only woman mayor has worked tirelessly for her hometown during her 35-plus years in public office. As she faces reelection unopposed next month, the 84-year-old contemplates her role as the symbol of a gritty town fighting its way back.
Photo Essay: Silence on the Cell Block

Photo Essay: Silence on the Cell Block

A look inside the now-empty penitentiary on the banks of the Ohio.
Made in Pittsburgh: 5 Great Ideas

Made in Pittsburgh: 5 Great Ideas

Modern-day creation in Pittsburgh doesn’t just involve physical products; we also have a knack for hatching new ideas that can solve problems in innovative, unexpected ways. These locally based thinkers are applying big thoughts to bigger problems.
Restaurant Review: Scratch Food + Beverage is King of the Hill

Restaurant Review: Scratch Food + Beverage is King of the Hill

The Troy Hill neighborhood spot matures into a casual destination restaurant.
Daytripping: Touring The Region's Most Notorious Prison

Daytripping: Touring The Region's Most Notorious Prison

Plan an overnight escape to the eerie edifice of Moundsville’s West Virginia Penitentiary.
Zumba in the Pool Erases Poor Attitude, Gluttony and Vanity

Zumba in the Pool Erases Poor Attitude, Gluttony and Vanity

Water Zumba promises to add a splash of variety to your normal workout routine.

Edit Module