RMU President Named to College Football Playoff Committee

Chris Howard will help decide which four teams will vie each year for college football’s national championship.

Photos: Michael will photography


Robert Morris University President Chris Howard is one of three new members appointed Tuesday to the College Football Playoff committee.

He joins a 13-member panel responsible for selecting the final four teams that will play each year for college football’s national championship. The panel also assigns the next group of teams in the remaining New Year’s bowls.

"This is not just a great honor for me but a great compliment to Robert Morris University, whose national stature continues to grow," said Howard in a statement. “I am humbled to be in such august company.”

The selection committee meets in-person beginning late in the football season and produces a ranking of the top 25 teams each week, leading up to its final selections.

Howard was a running back for the U.S. Air Force Academy, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in political science in 1991.

A Rhodes scholar, he earned his doctorate in politics at the University of Oxford and an M.B.A. with distinction from the Harvard Business School. A retired lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Air Force Reserve, Howard earned a Bronze Star for his service in Afghanistan.

Howard is in his second year as President of RMU.

Categories: The 412