Christie Lynn Dodd and Justin David Borkowski

Highland Park was the site of the couple’s outdoor ceremony, which was performed in front of the fountains by Pastor Rick Bruckner, the groom’s uncle.

Family:
Diane Fornear and Brian Dodd; Sherri and Dave Borkowski

Ceremony:
Highland Park (pittsburghparks.org/highland) was the site of the couple’s outdoor ceremony, which was performed in front of the fountains by Pastor Rick Bruckner, the groom’s uncle. Guests were seated comfortably on white wooden folding chairs with cushions from Hawkeye Tent Rentals (509 Fleming Road, Sarver; 724/524-1484; hawkeyetents.com). The ceremony featured a butterfly release by Wish Upon A Butterfly (724/667-7107; wishuponabutterfly.com), a present from Justin’s mother, in memory of family members who could not be there to celebrate.

Flowers:
Bella Floral Shoppe of the Bridgeville Shop ‘n Save (3239 Washington Pike, Bridgeville; 412/914-0830) incorporated all of the different colors from the bridesmaids’ dresses to design Christie’s bouquet, an arrangement of mini calla lilies, orchids, and Gerber daisies. Smaller versions of the bridal bouquet were carried by the bridesmaids, and the groomsmen wore calla lily boutonnieres with greenery. Calla lilies were carried by the bride and groom’s mothers as well.

Photographer:
Rick Szymanski of picSure Photography (412/607-1449; picsure.net).

On the Bride:
Christie’s gown, which featured ruching, beading, and a small train, was designed by and purchased from Alfred Angelo (7204 McKnight Road, Pittsburgh; 412/366-2014; alfredangelo.com). She also wore a blue sapphire necklace from Kay Jewelers (multiple locations; kay.com) and royal blue open-toed heels by Nina (ninashoes.com). Her bridesmaids all wore strapless Alfred Angelo cocktail dresses in the same style but varying colors.

On the Groom:
Justin and his groomsmen were outfitted by Tuxedo Junction (multiple locations; 800/724-1800; tuxedojunction.com). Each groomsman wore a tie that matched the dress of the bridesmaid he escorted.

Reception:
The newlyweds and their bridal party arrived at the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium (One Wild Place, Pittsburgh; 412/365-2536; pittsburghzoo.org) in an 18-passenger white Hummer limo from Tortorice Limousine Company (1555 Washington Boulevard, McKeesport; 412/977-7871; tortoricelimousine.com). They joined their 175 guests for a buffet-style dinner of stuffed lasagna roulettes, parmesan-encrusted baked chicken, and garlic potatoes.

Round glass centerpieces with floating candles, decorative rocks, and orange flower petals were found on every table, along with individual bags of orange jelly beans by Sarris Candies (511 Adams Avenue, Canonsburg; 724/745-4042; sarriscandies.com). A customized CD with memorable songs from the evening was given to a member of each family.

Cake:
Bethel Bakery (5200 Brightwood Road, Bethel Park; 412/835-6658; bethelbakery.com) decorated four off-center tiers of white cake with dots and swirls. A monogram ‘B’ cake-topper from Michaels (multiple locations; michaels.com) was a classic finishing touch.

Music:
A trio of chamber musicians provided string music for the ceremony, and DJ P.J. Riel of Entertainment Unlimited (412/343-7700; entertainmentunlimited.com/djs/pj-the-dj) kept guests dancing throughout the evening.
 

Categories: Weddings