17 Pennsylvania Counties to Move to “Green” Phase of Reopening

This final phase will still include some restrictions not in place prior to the pandemic.
Green Light


Gov. Tom Wolf set May 29 as the date for 17 counties in northern and northwestern Pennsylvania to switch to the “green” phase of reopening, removing nearly all of the restrictions imposed in March to slow the spread of COVID-19. No counties in southwestern Pennsylvania are included in this group.

The counties moving to green are Bradford, Cameron, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Elk, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Montour, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Venango and Warren.

Wolf also said that the counties currently in the “red” phase would move to the ”yellow” phase by June 5.

Wolf emphasized that even in the “green phase,” social distancing would be required.

“In the green phase, we will continue to take precautions, including reducing building capacity, encouraging teleworking, limiting visitation in certain high-risk environments, and preventing large entertainment gatherings,“ Wolf said.

The guidelines for moving to green are available here and include specifics for employers, large events, and social gatherings.

Categories: The 412