Jennifer Anne Staley and Thomas Jamison McCrady

The couple’s Roman Catholic ceremony took place at Saint Bede Parish and featured accompaniment by St. Bede Choir Director Gary Kline and members of the Pittsburgh Symphony.

Family

John and Patti Staley;
Sibby and Duff McCrady
 

Ceremony

The couple’s Roman Catholic ceremony took place at Saint Bede Parish (509 South Dallas Avenue, Pittsburgh; 412/661-7222) and featured accompaniment by St. Bede Choir Director Gary Kline and members of the Pittsburgh Symphony. Thomas Kunz, a priest the bride has known since childhood, came home early from studying in Rome to officiate. Wedding bands for the ceremony were crafted by Henne Jewelers (5501 Walnut St., Pittsburgh; 412/682-0226, hennejewelers.com), and the bride’s sister hand-painted the crash for the aisle.
 

Flowers

Jennifer’s bouquet, arranged by Bill Chisnell of designspace (5746 Baum Boulevard, Pittsburgh; 412/363-2120, designspacepgh.com), consisted of Lady Slipper orchids complimented by a celery green stripe, lush hydrangea, peonies, and garden roses in white and ivory. designspace also supplied the centerpieces for the reception, which included a vibrant mix of speckled hydrangea, various types of roses, peonies, small spray roses, and cymbidiums.
 

Photographer

Anita Buzzy Prentiss (Buzzy Photography; buzzyphoto.com).
 

On the Bride

Jennifer wore a strapless style, “The Bouquet”, by Vera Wang (verawang.com) purchased in Chicago. The gown featured an ivory faille bow sash and a tulle skirt with hand-pieced lace. The “something blue” needed for her bridal ensemble was satisfied by a pair of glittery Christian Louboutin heels (christianlouboutin.com) purchased in New York. Makeup artists Susan Staley of Sonia Roselli Chicago (soniaroselli.com) and Rachael Ryan of Ryan Makeup (646/457-8011; ryanmakeup.com) made sure Jennifer looked flawless on her special day, as did John Simpson of Lewis Hair Salon (813 South Aiken Street, Pittsburgh; 412/682-4063, lewishairsalon.com).
 

On the Groom

Thomas sported white linen pants and a navy blazer with gold buttons from Kountz & Rider Inc (301 Grant St., Pittsburgh; 412/642-6600), a pale blue button-down shirt from Brooks Brothers (multiple locations; brooksbrothers.com), a yellow and blue tie by Bird Dog Bay from The Picket Fence (5425 Walnut St., Pittsburgh; picketfenceshadyside.com), and monogrammed cufflinks from Scully and Scully (scullyandscully.com).
 

Reception

Wedding planner Sheila Weiner of The Event Group (1008 Washington Blvd., Pittsburgh; 412/441-9811, eventgroupproductions.com) coordinated an unforgettable celebration held at the Frick Art & Historical Center (7227 Reynolds St., Pittsburgh; 412/371-0600, frickart.org). Decorations for the event included Chinese lanterns, floral centerpieces, a painted dance floor, and buckets of flip flops that were handed out for dancing. Common Plea Catering (2495 Smallman St., Pittsburgh; 412/281-5140, commonplea-restaurant.com) served a delectable menu that included a Belgian endive and apple salad, gorgonzola-filled figs wrapped in prosciutto, tenderloin of beef with sherry demi glace, jumbo lump crab, and potatoes napoleon. Guests wandered down flower-lined walkways to tour the Frick Center during the reception and were given cold “Jen and TJ” water bottles as they departed. As wedding favors, guests received muffins from Vanilla Pastry Studio (6014 Penn Circle South, Pittsburgh; 412/361-2306, vanillapastry.com) in heart-shaped boxes with notes indicating that a donation was made in their name to KidsVoice (kidsvoice.org).
 

Cake

A red velvet cake with round and square tiers piped in navy icing and decorated with pink sugar flowers was provided by Vanilla Pastry Studio (6014 Penn Circle South, Pittsburgh; 412/361-2306, vanillapastry.com).
 

Music

Guests packed the dance floor to groove to music by the Wayne Foster Orchestra of California (waynefoster.com).
 

Next-Day Brunch

The party didn’t stop at the reception: Friends and family gathered at the bride’s home the next day to attend a brunch. For the feast, The Fluted Mushroom (109 S. 12th St., South Side; 412/381-1899, flutedmushroom.com) provided delectable dishes like crème brulee French toast.
 

Categories: Weddings